Skip to main content

Welcome to the MC Sailing Association

The MC Sailing Association originally formed in Shreveport LA, 1971. Since then, the MC class has grown to be one of the top one-design sailboat racing classes in North America. The MC class is not just about racing -- it has also been described by many people outside of the class as a very enjoyable and fun group to spend a weekend with!

Please look around and explore the activities taking place at a nearby lake (over 100 fleets can be found here: MC Active Fleet Finder) and see why we're so enthusiastic about this one-design racing sailboat. Looking to buy an MC? Go to the Forums menu section.

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events

2019 Regattas: Results & Reports

2016 MC Nationals - Friday

Andy Burdick  (262) 275-1110

Jim Gluek (262) 227-6686

Mike Considine (312) 326-1053

Quantum Logo

Bill Draheim (972) 998-5313

Dan Fink - Dealer (414) 344-8765

(800) 800-6050

June Howells  (321) 302-8388

2018 MCSA National Championship at Pewaukee YC, WI.
See more videos located on our You Tube account. Click red icon near FaceBook icon - upper left side

Notice of Election

As part of its annual rotation, the Board seeks nominations of candidates to fill the positions of two retiring members of the Board of Governors. Nominees must be current MCSA members and available to actively serve a three year term of office beginning January 1, 2020.

The elected individuals will fill the expiring terms of Andy McDonald, & Stefan Schmidt. When contemplating prospective nominees, consider the value of maintaining a Board balance in sailing, administrative, and leadership skill sets as well as a geographical representation of MCSA members.

The following members have accepted nominations to fill the positions of the two retiring Board members and will be placed on the ballot for a vote:

Dan Guidinger - White Bear YC, MN, Fleet 22
Sean Bradley   - Barnegat Bay YR Assoc, NJ, Fleet 105

The following is a list of the current Board members whose terms expire on December 31st of the year indicated:


Andy McDonald –Indianapolis SC, IN (2019)

Stefan Schmidt –Lake Mendota, WI (2019)

Mike Keenan    - Hoover YC, OH (2020)
Brian Morgan   - Rush Creek YC, TX (2020)
Ron Hull           - Lake Monona YC, WI (2021)
Scott Harestad  - Spring Lake YC, MI (2024)- Vice Commodore
Dan Fink         -  Little Muskego, WI (2022)-   Commodore

Richard Blake  – Hoover Lake, OH (2020) – Rear Commodore



The election will be held during the Annual Membership Meeting at the MCSA National Championship regatta at Minnetonka YC, MN , August 22-25, 2019.

Inquiries should be submitted to Richard Blake at

Touch of Class Magazine - Winter Issue

The latest issue of the Touch of Class magazine will soon be mailed to your homes for those members that chose to receive a printed copy.  For those members that elected to receive the electronic version of the Touch of Class magazine, it is now posted to the website under the menu "Touch of Class" in the members only section and is available for your viewing and or downloading. 

Members have the option to choose a mailed printed version or an electronic version. You may do so by logging into your account and make the change under the "Contact Info" menu area of  the "Personal Info" section.  Please consider going green!


Drowning Doesn’t Look Like Drowning

Gowrie Group and The Burgee Insurance Program are proud to offer a comprehensive suite of safety materials and safety resources to our clients and associates. You can download the documents. See link below

Burgee Program Safety Resources: by Gowrie


MCSA Member Ted Weihe created a MC book for purchase. Ted is contributing all royalties to the class!! ( $3 of $20 book cost) - Thank you Ted.:    To purchase book, go here: MC BOOK

Falling in Love with the MC Scow is a primer on racing the MC from a new comer to the class with a lifetime of sailing experience. Much of information is based on Zenda U. on-the-water training by the Melges Team and by MC champions. It is infused with personal recollections by the author. 

                                          © MC Sailing Association, Inc. 2019. All Rights Reserved.